A7 - A7

Published Saturday 29th September 2007
A7 - A7
A7 - A7

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 22482-12372
LABEL: Gospel Incorporated 829569911028
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Jamie Hailstone

Bizarrely, there are only six members of A7 and yes, they all have first names which start with the letter A. If you can get over that small fact, then there is much to enjoy on this 15 track CD. For the first few songs, the brothers swing out like Boyz II Men, but then the record really changes gear with "Church Time In The South" and "Father Stay". From then on, A7 deliver a masterclass in how to perform modern soul and gospel, utilising the latest in production techniques. "Church Time In The South" might be a good time gospel song, but it swings like Justin Timberlake. The stirring "Father Stay" and "Always Here With Me" show off the group's flawless ensemble singing. Lead singer Alexander 'Lx' Harris brings down the house on all the songs. The closing medley of "I Just Want To See His Face" and "Jesus I Love You" will move even the hardest of souls. On most CDs, you reasonably expect to hear three or four decent songs and a bit of filler. Put simply, there isn't a bad song on this one.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Rise Up [Listen]
2. Don't Walk Away [Listen]
3. Cry No More (Teary Eyes) [Listen]
4. Church Time In The South (Intro) [Listen]
5. Church Time In The South [Listen]
6. Father Stay [Listen]
7. Friend Like Jesus [Listen]
8. After Life (Tic Toc) [Listen]
9. Always Here With Me [Listen]
10. Let's Go Back (Hot Sauce And Chicken Wings) [Listen]
11. Beautiful [Listen]
12. No Dream Too Small (Intro) [Listen]
13. No Dream Too Small [Listen]
14. That's Life (Betty And Lee Lee) [Listen]
15. Worship Medley- I Just See His Face-Jesus I Love You [Listen]
16. Mary Don't You Weep [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Romona Stevens in Atlanta, GA @ 21:34 on Mar 24 2010

I continue to enjoy listening to A7 urban gospel music.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room