Admiral Twin - The Center Of The Universe

Published Thursday 13th March 2008
Admiral Twin - The Center Of The Universe
Admiral Twin - The Center Of The Universe

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 44425-13664
LABEL: The Pop Collective TPC2002

Reviewed by James Lidgett

Don't be fooled into thinking that you've heard it all before. Listen more carefully and you will see that Admiral Twin's newest offering is a lot more than it seems on the surface. With a sound that could be described as a blend of west coast indie and classic British rock, the formula for the album is sure to equal success. The album is full of energetic melodies, quirky and varied stylisations with creative use of electronic influences, making every song a slightly different fusion. The messages within the album are clear and every one contained within the endless instantly catching hooks, if not in the track titles themselves, such as "Say Your Prayers", "You Hung The Moon" and "Renegade Planet". At a time where this retro-tinged style of music is huge worldwide, this album is bound to turn heads. Very rarely does it occur that an overtly Christian album is released that will appeal to believers and non-Christians alike but this is one album that truly does have something for everyone. If there's one particular moment when the album reaches the sublime heights, it's the vocal harmony cut-away on "In My Veins". Search out this set and hear what I mean.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Good As Gold [Listen]
2. In My Veins [Listen]
3. Take Me Down [Listen]
4. Smash It Up [Listen]
5. Say Your Prayers [Listen]
6. Get Well Soon [Listen]
7. You Hung The Moon [Listen]
8. Fear [Listen]
9. Renegade Planet [Listen]
10. Monument [Listen]
11. Best At Being Lonely [Listen]
12. I Confess [Listen]
13. Big Black Car [Listen]
14. If Hell Is Like You [Listen]
15. Silence [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.