Adrian Lucas - Adrian Lucas Plays Organ Music From Worcester

Friday 5th July 2002
Adrian Lucas - Adrian Lucas Plays Organ Music From Worcester

STYLE: Classical
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9

Reviewed by Steven Whitehead

So this is not the snappiest title we have come across but as the first volume in a new series of organ music from English cathedrals it is certainly an excellent start. Adrian Lucas, master of choristers at Worcester, is an accomplished organist as well as being a conductor. Here he plays a dozen organ pieces, all solo although the concluding "Grand March From Tannhauser" (Wagner) perhaps misses a choir, trumpet fanfare - and kitchen sink! This is a well thought out collection which includes acknowledged classics such as Walton's "Orb And Sceptre" along with some lesser known gems. Sound quality is superb and, for any organ anoraks reading this, full technical details are supplied.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.