Allen & Allen - Come Sunday

Tuesday 1st October 1996
Allen & Allen - Come Sunday
Allen & Allen - Come Sunday

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: CGI 5141651952
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

The sticker on the front bears the legend, "The Inspirational Jazz duo of the year" and this is not mere hyperbole but rather a sound judgment of a highly talented couple of guys! Bruce V Allen and Allen T Wiggins mix elements of jazz, funk, urban soul, rap and gospel and it comes up sounding sensational! Fresh, creative and exciting and a million miles away from the ear candy of so many Christian releases. This has attitude and bounces out of your speakers demanding respect! Jazzy piano from Bruce and the sassiest sax from Allen mean that there really is a jazz funk heaven. Sometimes mellow and beautiful as on 'Tears Of Joy", sometimes loud 'n' proud as on the funk workout "Higher". Daryl Coley lends his awesome vocal chords to the project on the slow brooding funk of "Come Sunday" and the legendary Albertina Walker tosses in some harmonies and bvs on the big band tinted "You Don't Know" which swings, man! Possibly the coolest release of 1996, if you like all things jazzy then you have just got to wrap your lugs round this wonderful album. Let's hope CGI get UK - representation soon.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Rap Intro [Listen]
2. Trouble Don't Last Always [Listen]
3. Come Sunday [Listen]
4. You Made It Right [Listen]
5. You Don't Know What The Lord Has Done For Me [Listen]
6. Higher [Listen]
7. Picked Me Up [Listen]
8. Tears Of Joy [Listen]
9. God's Speed [Listen]
10. Lay It To Rest [Listen]
11. Holy Medley- Holy, Holy, Holy; Great Is Thy Faithfulness [Listen]
12. Trouble Don't Last Always (No Rap) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.