Andrew Lumsden - Andrew Lumsden Plays Organ Music From Lichfield

Monday 15th July 2002
Andrew Lumsden - Andrew Lumsden Plays Organ Music From Lichfield

STYLE: Classical
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9

Reviewed by Steven Whitehead

This is volume three of The English Cathedral Series and is as good as its predecessors. Particularly commendable is the sound quality. But what of the music? The opening piece is Walton's "Crown Imperial", followed by lesser known pieces (at least to non-organists) by Bourgeois and Thalben-Ball. Then we get the main work featured on this disc: Elgar's "Sonata In G", with three more unknown gems to conclude: Ridout's "Jacob And The Angel", "Adagio In E" by Bridge and Jongen's "Sonata Ero´ca". All new to this reviewer who is delighted to have made their acquaintance. And a vote of thanks for organist Lumsden who plays remarkably well.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.