Angelo & Veronica - Angelo & Veronica

Friday 1st April 1994
Angelo & Veronica - Angelo & Veronica
Angelo & Veronica - Angelo & Veronica

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Benson 8441822082

Reviewed by Chris Berry

Terrific debut album, so... could they do it again? In case you've been asleep this team are a husband and wife duo giving their all in the soul/dance stakes. Well the news is that there's a pleasant opener, but it didn't seem to get going until about two minutes in (would you wait that long?). I expected something more and felt rather like I was being led up and up and yet finally finding that there was no top. But then, hold on, Michael Bolton's "Now That I've Found You" turns up - but then I'm afraid it just sounds a bit dull. Where has that spark gone, that something extra which set them apart last year? Track three gives a kind of American cop series feel, elements of "Shaft" here. Then there's a truly awful rendition of Carole King's "You've Got A Friend" and a dash of R&B gospel which is not quite there - check out Anointed for the real thing. Overall some nice material and good playing, but I get the impression that they're trying a little too hard.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Flip The Switch [Listen]
2. Red Lights [Listen]
3. Destiny [Listen]
4. Better Days [Listen]
5. Thirteen [Listen]
6. Something Fresh [Listen]
7. Just Dance [Listen]
8. Make A Difference [Listen]
9. Give It Up [Listen]
10. Alone [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.