Article One - Colors And Sounds

Published Thursday 17th July 2008
Article One - Colors And Sounds
Article One - Colors And Sounds

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 46481-11616
LABEL: Inpop

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Ewan Jones

Listening to Article One curiously brought to mind both Switchfoot and S-Club 7 at the same time. Opening track "Without You (I'm Not Alright)" has a disco feel with pounding beat, funk bass and the first of a bunch of catchy pop choruses that litter the CD. In the tradition of bands like Yellowcard, Article One benefit from a violinist -sometimes up front and delicate, often drenched in reverb and placed masterfully into the mix. The violin features heavily on ballads like "Never Too Late To Call" and "Love You Tomorrow" but even the rockier songs have a produced, boy-band feel to them and lack grit. The album's not bad by any means and definitely grows through repeated listening. Lyrics are generic positive pop-rock fare encouraging you to believe, aim high, to trust in love, to make the most of life and to search for more. The band's lack of questioning wit and darker touches keep a band like Switchfoot ahead of the game. It's all good stuff in this solid effort, but in a crowded market Article One will need to pull something more original than a violin out of the bag for their next release.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Without You - I'm Not Alright [Listen]
2. Colors And Sounds [Listen]
3. Searchlights [Listen]
4. Never Too Late To Call [Listen]
5. Set To Start - Fall For Love [Listen]
6. Becoming [Listen]
7. If The World Gives Up [Listen]
8. Love You Tomorrow [Listen]
9. Dare To Believe [Listen]
10. Looking For Angels [Listen]
11. Angels [Listen]
12. Above All Else [Listen]
13. Taken By The Storm [Listen]
14. Peace 'Til We Meet Again [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.