Attention - Mercystreet

Friday 1st December 2000
Attention - Mercystreet
Attention - Mercystreet

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
LABEL: MEP 1902222
RRP: £2.50

Reviewed by Stuart Blackburn

Attention's debut album has been available in Sweden for the past year and now comes to us remastered and remixed for our listening pleasure. This is uncompromising rock 'n' roll driven by the powerhouse drumming of new band member Per Selvander, with screaming Hammond organ overhead. The band cranks out some meaty riffs, the intro to "Heaven Sent" being the best of all. No rock album is complete without a few quieter numbers and 'Mercystreet' obliges with the melodic acoustic rock of "Goodbye" and "I Forgive". However, Attention are most convincing when barnstorming at full pelt, as on the title track (my favourite). It is a pity that we do not hear more of Jon Peterson's lead guitar. Breaks are infrequent and tend to get lost in the mix. The album's greatest flaw lies in the lyrics, which often come perilously close to suffering from died for me/set me free syndrome. Its weaknesses can be easily forgiven on two counts: Firstly this is good-humoured stuff. I defy anyone to keep a straight face listening to "Superstar". Secondly this album exudes a passionate faith. No fear of the J word here. You've paid attention, now you can buy it.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Days [Listen]
2. Heaven Sent [Listen]
3. Goodbye [Listen]
4. Up On The Mountain [Listen]
5. Superstar [Listen]
6. I Forgive [Listen]
7. Mercystreet [Listen]
8. Friend Of Mine [Listen]
9. Me [Listen]
10. Lovesong [Listen]
11. Hopes And Dreams [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.