Barry And Terri Collecutt - Forsaking All

Published Tuesday 9th May 2006
Barry And Terri Collecutt - Forsaking All
Barry And Terri Collecutt - Forsaking All

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 17694-11206
LABEL: Independent
EXTRAS: Enhanced CD
RRP: £11.99

Reviewed by Robin Thompson

It's hard to ignore the strong Vineyard influences on this album. As an example, the second song "The Way" has elements that strongly remind me of "Home Again" from the Nordic Vineyard 'Desire' album. But even the song style and arrangements are very much in the Vineyard mould. In one sense then, this album is in danger of being labelled derivative, but I think it is more a case of Barry and Terri from New Zealand emulating a style which is very popular with today's emerging generation. In so doing they have created an excellent collection of songs presented in an accessible and relevant format. It's full of catchy hooks too, "Audience Of One" being a prime example - eminently singable and full of praise. 14 songs and a bonus CD also represent excellent value, which gives you very little to complain about. All in all, an admirable package if you are after something that captures the current sound of contemporary worship music.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Thank You For The Cross [Listen]
2. The Way [Listen]
3. Hear Me Calling [Listen]
4. All Honour [Listen]
5. Audience Of One [Listen]
6. Jesus My Righteousness [Listen]
7. You Alone Are Worthy [Listen]
8. You Are God [Listen]
9. Your Love (It's A Mystery) [Listen]
10. Forsaking All [Listen]
11. Doxology-O Praise Him [Listen]
12. You Are So Beautiful [Listen]
13. Faithful Son [Listen]
14. I Love You [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.