Big Band Praise - Big Band Praise Vol 2: Soon And Very Soon

Wednesday 1st December 1993
Big Band Praise - Big Band Praise Vol 2: Soon And Very Soon
Big Band Praise - Big Band Praise Vol 2: Soon And Very Soon

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD672
RRP: £2.50

Reviewed by Steve Smith

Today you can walk into a Christian CD/tape shop and buy a worship album in absolutely any style of music you fancy, from classical flute to heavy metal! A recent dimension is that of the Big Band, and here we have Kingsway's second release of classic hymns and gospel songs given the 'Big Band' treatment. You might find this offensive, or exciting. Personally, I revelled in the brilliant arrangements and first rate playing by the Gloryland Band, an American aggregation which compares more than favourably with the substandard British unit used on Volume 1. I just couldn't help getting up and swinging along with the music, it was so captivating. A lot of the songs used are American and fairly obscure, but there are some by Andrae Crouch and favourites such as "Amazing Grace", "Blessed Assurance", "My Tribute", "Rejoice In The Lord Always", "Swing Low" and others. Give it a try and be prepared to be pleasantly surprised.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. God's Amazing Grace [Listen]
2. Unclouded Day [Listen]
3. At The Cross [Listen]
4. Redeemed [Listen]
5. Soon And Very Soon [Listen]
6. When We All Get To Heaven [Listen]
7. Nothing But The Blood [Listen]
8. Hallelujah, We Shall Rise [Listen]
9. Blessed Assurance [Listen]
10. My Tribute (To God Be The Glory) [Listen]
11. Bless The Lord [Listen]
12. Glory To His Name [Listen]
13. 'Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus [Listen]
14. Softly And Tenderly [Listen]
15. Just A Closer Walk With Thee [Listen]
16. In The Sweet By And By [Listen]
17. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot [Listen]
18. What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
19. Shine The Light [Listen]
20. Reach Out To Jesus [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.