Big Band Praise - Come On And Celebrate

Thursday 1st October 1992
Big Band Praise - Come On And Celebrate
Big Band Praise - Come On And Celebrate

LABEL: Kingsway KMCD580
RELEASE DATE: 1992-08-21
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

If ever a Christian album was in danger of prosecution under the Trade Descriptions Act, this one comes per­ilously close. In the sleeve spiel it mentions "the music of Glenn Miller, Count Basie and Duke Ellington". For this is so, so far from those big band jazz and swing giants it seems from another planet. The feeble ensemble on 'Big Band Praise' resembles a back street Palais band being given hurredly prepared arrangements of material from Bilborough, Fellingham, Fitts and ... you've guessed it, Kendrick. Some woe­fully dirge-like playing with one or two tracks sounding far more like small group trad jazz than big band (out takes from Trad Jazz Praise?). An abysmal album

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Come On And Celebrate [Listen]
2. Father In Heaven [Listen]
3. I Am A New Creation [Listen]
4. Peace Is Flowing Like A River [Listen]
5. Let There Be Love [Listen]
6. Give Thanks [Listen]
7. Rejoice, Rejoice [Listen]
8. Jesus, You Are The Radiance [Listen]
9. Thank You Jesus - What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
10. I Will Enter His Gates [Listen]
11. Soon And Very Soon [Listen]
12. Such Love [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.