Bishop T D Jakes - Gold

Published Sunday 9th October 2005
Bishop T D Jakes - Gold
Bishop T D Jakes - Gold

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 12909-2514
LABEL: EMI Gospel EMID2637
RRP: £12.99

Reviewed by Simon Eden

Bishop TD Jakes is larger than life in many ways. Don't even bother trying to count the extent of books, ministry recordings and worship CDs that he has been the organising force behind, in addition to the massive conferences. In writing he is prolific, in worship he is passionate, in preaching he is dynamic and in leading he is powerful. 'Gold' consists of two CDs that have been released previously, 'The Storm Is Over' (2001) with the good bishop's church ensemble the Potter's House Mass Choir, with the second CD the 'Woman Thou Art Loosed Worship 2002: Run To The Water...The River Within' album. That event at the New Orleans Superdome and attended by 70,000 women was clearly an important moment in the history of the African American Church. There is a 12 minute video clip of the Bishop preaching on each CD, including clips of applauding women in correctional institutions. A DVD was also released of this conference, so the preaching is also a re-release. The worship and preaching sets a benchmark of traditional quality that many aspire to copy. It is classic black Pentecostal in style with all star worship leaders such as Darwin Hobbs, Donnie McClurkin and Beverly Crawford. As a compilation, it is a great introduction to Bishop Jakes. Although the tracks are a few years old, it is likely that they will still be played in decades to come.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lord Of All [Listen]
2. Bless The Lord [Listen]
3. The Storm Is Over Now [Listen]
4. When My Season Comes [Listen]
5. Let Your Glory Fill This Place [Listen]
6. Thou Art My Help [Listen]
7. Trust And Obey [Listen]
8. The Devil's Already Defeated [Listen]
9. Marvellous [Listen]
10. Born Again To Win [Listen]
11. Praise The Lord With Me [Listen]
12. Holy, Holy, Holy [Listen]
13. Your Majesty [Listen]
14. Sermonette 1- God Loves A Worshipper [Listen]
15. Lord, I Lift Your Name On High [Listen]
16. I Honour You [Listen]
17. Sermonette 2- Real Worship [Listen]
18. Be Glorified [Listen]
19. Oh Tho Most High [Listen]
20. Release Your Power [Listen]
21. Sermonette 3- The Mind Is The Battleground [Listen]
22. Oh Give Thanks [Listen]
23. Blessing, Glory And Honour [Listen]
24. Amazing Grace [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by ali kering in kenya @ 16:13 on Sep 14 2008


The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room