Charles Timberlake and John Daniels - A Glorious Light: The Christmas Collection

Published Wednesday 5th November 2014
Charles Timberlake and John Daniels - A Glorious Light: The Christmas Collection
Charles Timberlake and John Daniels - A Glorious Light: The Christmas Collection

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 153413-22469
LABEL: Calando CALCD010
RRP: £12.00

Reviewed by Stephen Luff

Charles, based in Suffolk, and USA-based John have been making instrumental keyboard-based albums since 2000 and have found a niche with believers seeking gentle music suitable for their biblical meditations or as a soothing backdrop to their lives. This 13-track album contains 16 traditional carols alongside original compositions and a version of "Old Lang Syne". It has to be said that there are a lot of instrumental Christmas albums in the marketplace but this is one of the better ones, avoiding the department store muzak sounds of the worst of the type. With Charles' elegant piano lines and John's sweeping synth washes they are able to inject some nice touches, even to familiar favourites like "O Holy Night", "Silent Night" and "In The Bleak Mid Winter". An inspiring collection played with considerable skill.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. O Holy Night [Listen]
2. Silent Night [Listen]
3. In The Bleak Midwinter [Listen]
4. Mary's Song [Listen]
5. Sussex-Ships Medley- Sussex Carol-I Saw Three Ships [Listen]
6. Away In A Manger [Listen]
7. Has Christmas Been Born In You- [Listen]
8. Ding Dong Medley- Ding Dong Merrily On High-The First Nowell-Angels From The Realms Of Glory [Listen]
9. Is This Really How He Meant It To Be- [Listen]
10. O Little Town Of Bethlehem [Listen]
11. A Quiet Night, A Quiet Star [Listen]
12. The Holly And The Ivy Medley [Listen]
13. Auld Lang Syne [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.