Children Of The Consuming Fire - Children Of The Consuming Fire

Tuesday 1st August 1995
Children Of The Consuming Fire - Children Of The Consuming Fire
Children Of The Consuming Fire - Children Of The Consuming Fire

RATING 4 4 4 4
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 13899-9968
LABEL: New Breed FLD9141
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by James Lewis

Why on earth has this album suddenly been given a release over here by Kingsway (even at mid price) when it was recorded back in 1991?! It's certainly not because this is an undiscovered classic - because it's not. Surely there are more deserving New Breed releases by the Violet Burning or Asight Unseen, or Steyie-Ray-Vaughn-wannabe, Sleepy Ray (and I'd love to do a review of that one!), for instance, that ought to see the light of day over here. It's not that 'Children Of The Consuming Fire' is exactly a bad album - you're probably not likely to leap for the off switch to avoid hearing a second more of this. It's just, well...okay. Despite the "plaid" shirt, presumably aiming for the grunge audience, this is merely alternative CCM past its sell by date - calling to mind The Altar Boys' '87 "Against The Grain" or perhaps early Undercover. My comrade-in-pen gave their latest effort a good review in the last issue so maybe you should seek that one out. In the meantime, Lukas -if you want this CD, it's yours!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Good Boy [Listen]
2. Armed For Hostile World [Listen]
3. Cry [Listen]
4. Speed Metal Mariachis [Listen]
5. Spirit Of Love [Listen]
6. Burning Fire [Listen]
7. She Said To Me [Listen]
8. Pray For Rain [Listen]
9. Flowers [Listen]
10. Saved By Grace [Listen]
11. Sad, Sad, Lonley World [Listen]
12. We Must Become [Listen]
13. Track 13 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.