Dave Bilbrough - God Of Grace/An Army Of Ordinary People: The Best Of

Tuesday 1st June 1993
Dave Bilbrough - God Of Grace/An Army Of Ordinary People: The Best Of
Dave Bilbrough - God Of Grace/An Army Of Ordinary People: The Best Of

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD702
RRP: £10.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Over 75 minutes of live worship so only the praise and worship completist (if such a strange animal exists) would winge that a track or two have been dropped from this reissue of two seminal albums. The musical strengths and minuses are obvious. On the plus side here are many of Dave's greatest songs "So Freely", "I Am A New Creation", "God Of Grace" and "Shout For Joy" while there is a joyful bounce in Dave's exuberant performance. Though it becomes somewhat exhausting over 75 minutes. However, it does exude the spirit of praise. The minuses are an eccentric sound balance, many of the instruments being inaudible. But if you're still catching up on one of Britain's most gifted worship songwriters, this compilation is worth investigating.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I Am A New Creation [Listen]
2. Shout For Joy [Listen]
3. So Freely [Listen]
4. Love So Special [Listen]
5. Reigning Over All [Listen]
6. O The Valleys Shall Ring [Listen]
7. In Your Love [Listen]
8. Complete In Christ Jesus [Listen]
9. I Will Celebrate His Name [Listen]
10. I'm Gonna Thank The Lord [Listen]
11. An Army Of Ordinary People [Listen]
12. God Of Grace [Listen]
13. I Will Exalt [Listen]
14. We Will Crown Him [Listen]
15. You Brought Me Back [Listen]
16. Love Beyond Measure [Listen]
17. All Of You [Listen]
18. Lord, We Worship You [Listen]
19. Lord, In Full And Glad Surrender [Listen]
20. Unwearying Love [Listen]
21. Lord, You Set My Heart On Fire [Listen]
22. Reigning In All Splendour [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Matthew Oakley in south korea @ 14:39 on Oct 29 2011

Me too. I really want to buy this album. Where can I find it... or even better, download it?

Posted by Linda Vorster in South Africa @ 20:17 on Oct 31 2009

I love this cd of Dave, and would like to get hold of it, as the christian shops can not get hold of it.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room