Devin Williams - Pour It Out

Published Sunday 22nd January 2012
Devin Williams - Pour It Out
Devin Williams - Pour It Out

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 120202-18669
LABEL: Independent

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Ian Webber

This independent release came out back in 2009 as the ex-Mouthpiece member; Devin was working on his solo career. As an artist hailing from the Music City, Nashville, you would be right to expect a quality piece of work. The album kicks off with the title track, and Devin's most notable asset is immediately obvious, his voice. Throaty but smooth, he purrs like a highly tuned engine. Musically he shows he can rock with "Take Control" and its stripped back guitar-driven riffs, but overall this is music to feel comfortable with. The bass-driven "Wings Of Your Presence" is particularly laid back. Everything feels safe and well measured. Devin has the knack of writing worship songs that sit well on a rock backing without sounding rebellious, songs that I could hear Todd Agnew delivering with similar power. The better tracks hint at a minor key such as "Holy Spirit Come" and "Into Your Hands". Both of these could easily grace a pop rock radio show and you find yourself quickly singing along with their catchy choruses. For all its high end production and packaging, I would, however, describe 'Pour It Out' as comfy, like a favourite piece of clothing. At times it is so reassuring that some tracks blend into the background. Having said that, you can't deny that there are some well written tunes here.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Pour It Out [Listen]
2. Holy Spirit Come [Listen]
3. Into Your Hands [Listen]
4. I'm Ready [Listen]
5. You're The One [Listen]
6. Burn It All Away [Listen]
7. His Name [Listen]
8. Take Control [Listen]
9. Wings Of Your Presence [Listen]
10. Only You [Listen]
11. So Good [Listen]
12. Your Will [Listen]
13. Love That Satisfies [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.