Dunham Jazz/Jubilee Singers - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1927-1931

Published Wednesday 18th January 2006
Dunham Jazz/Jubilee Singers - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1927-1931
Dunham Jazz/Jubilee Singers - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1927-1931

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21357-11986
LABEL: Document DOCD5498

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Steven Whitehead

In my CD library I have a compilation of old interviews featuring the voices of people who you may well have thought would not have been recorded - Queen Victoria, for example, and eyewitness accounts such as an elderly gent, taped in the 1930s, who as a young boy had seen the Duke of Wellington's funeral. Fascinating stuff. I played it with great pleasure. Once. And then stored it away for use as a teaching resource in my history classes. This CD falls into the same category. It was an interesting listen but not one that bears repeated plays. Part of the problem is that the recordings have been taken from original 78 rpm records or even taped copies of records that have now been lost. There is some good four-part harmony singing of sacred and secular material here but sometimes it gets lost in the hiss and few of the performances are particularly distinctive. The Dunham Jubilee Singers were a vehicle for Charles "Son" Dunham who was an itinerant quartet trainer in and around Birmingham, Alabama who died in 1955. The quartet's claim to fame, or at least a footnote in the history of Gospel music, is that they backed Bessie Smith on the legendary Empress of The Blues' one religious release which, frustratingly, is not included in this otherwise comprehensive collection. Really an album for historic-recording completists only.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Honey Turn Your Damper Down - A -Mama- Blues [Listen]
2. You Can Here Those Darkies Singing [Listen]
3. Holy Is My Name [Listen]
4. You Can Tell The World [Listen]
5. Calvary [Listen]
6. Do What The Lord Say Do [Listen]
7. My Mama's Baby Child [Listen]
8. Louisianna Babe [Listen]
9. I Dreamed Of The Judgment Morning [Listen]
10. Will He Welcome Me There [Listen]
11. Get On Board [Listen]
12. The Old Account Was Settled Long Ago [Listen]
13. Angel Child [Listen]
14. See How They Did My Lord [Listen]
15. Light Of The World [Listen]
16. Who Stole The Lock [Listen]
17. Ephram Got The Coon [Listen]
18. When The Moon Vanishes Away [Listen]
19. If Men Go To Hell, Who Cares- [Listen]
20. See My Friends Again [Listen]
21. The Complete Dixie Quartette - His Troubles Was Hard [Listen]
22. The Complete Dixie Quartette - Jerusalem Mornin' [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.