El McMeen - Amazing Grace

Published Thursday 25th October 2007
El McMeen - Amazing Grace
El McMeen - Amazing Grace

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 17727-11232
LABEL: Independent PRM112

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

The idea of a musician running through instrumental versions of "Amazing Grace", "In The Garden" and "Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho" didn't exactly set my blood racing. But New Jersey-based El McMeen is a master of the acoustic guitar and his deft playing throughout this set of hymns and songs is exemplary. So often instrumental albums marketed by the Christian bookshops are little more than elevator music but here the virtuoso breathes into everything he plays, be it "Onward Christian Soldiers" or Redman's "Blessed Be Your Name". Tremendous stuff.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Will The Circle Be Unbroken - I Saw The Light [Listen]
2. Amazing Grace [Listen]
3. Onward, Christian Soldiers [Listen]
4. Angel Band [Listen]
5. Resurrection Power [Listen]
6. Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)- [Listen]
7. Be Thou Vision [Listen]
8. Once To Every Man And Nation - Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho [Listen]
9. In The Garden [Listen]
10. Fairest Lord Jesus [Listen]
11. Thank You, Lord [Listen]
12. Irish Meditation (Believe Me If All Those Endearing Young Charms) [Listen]
13. Scottish Meditation (Niel Gow's Lament For The Death Of His Second Wife) [Listen]
14. Blessed Be Your Name [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.