Femi Temowo - Orin Meta

Published Friday 17th February 2012
Femi Temowo - Orin Meta
Femi Temowo - Orin Meta

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 119354-18515
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

Perhaps most famous for being the late Amy Winehouse's musical director, London-based Nigerian-born jazz guitar virtuoso Femi Temowo's latest release is loosely based around his native Yoruban tradition of storytelling and sees him marry his African musical roots with a fine line in contemporary jazz. In fact, the album's opener "The Storyteller's Psalm" is a perfect example of this approach and the 10 minute jazz exposť sees a host of guest soloists take their turn to say their piece - very much in the way African stories are indigenously told - and sets the scene for an album of fine performances. Whilst the following two tracks, "Awon" and "Orin Ayo", continue in the contemporary jazz vein with Temowo's playing referencing guitar heroes such as Wes Montgomery and George Benson, the likes of the acoustic and ultimately more accessible "Asiko Aye" - featuring a warm vocal performance from Cleveland Watkiss - provide diversity in what is an already varied collection. Temowo has chosen to employ the services of top notch musicians to achieve an album of spectacularly skilful proportions and his core band of Troy Miller (drums), Michael Olatuja (bass) and Grant Windsor (keys) is augmented by some stellar turns by the likes of saxophonist Jean Toussaint and talking drummer Ayan De First on the smooth "Like A Peaceful River" and the African "Sunmo Mi" respectively. Temowo and his band get a chance to shine in the stripped down "Years Of Blue" and "The Drummer's Call" which sees some delightful interaction between this obviously close knit and supremely gifted unit. Some late night jazz is thrown in for good measure with the laidback title track ending a stunning album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Storyteller's Psalm [Listen]
2. Awon Asiwaju [Listen]
3. Orin Ayo [Listen]
4. Asiko Aye [Listen]
5. Felicia's Song [Listen]
6. Sunmo Mi Part 1 (Intro) [Listen]
7. Sunmo Mi [Listen]
8. Years Of Blue [Listen]
9. The Drummer's Call [Listen]
10. Like A Peaceful River [Listen]
11. Orin Meta [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.