Free:16 - Songs From The Belly Of A Big Fish

Monday 1st September 2003
Free:16 - Songs From The Belly Of A Big Fish
Free:16 - Songs From The Belly Of A Big Fish

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Free:16 are a band fronted by UK-based singer/songwriter Mark Andrews. It’s a hard one to pin down stylistically. Mark plays piano very well and judging from the mini-instrumental “Hind’s Feet” is classically trained. Mark’s voice is high and reedy but not untuneful, while his lyric writing is boldly biblical. The problem lies in Mark’s faster melodies which seem corny and dated. On the slower material, like the dramatic “I Love To Be In Your Presence” the effect is quite different. Like the veritable curate’s egg, this is good in parts.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Out Of Focus
2. Coming Back
3. Without Your Love
4. Hind's Feet
5. I Love To Be In Your Presence
6. Let Your Glory Be Seen
7. Wonderful Life
8. Down To You
9. Father's Heart
10. Somewhere In The Crowd

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.