Great Big God - Backing Tracks

Published Wednesday 15th February 2006
Great Big God - Backing Tracks
Great Big God - Backing Tracks

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 13706-10635
LABEL: Vineyard Music VMUKCD16
EXTRAS: Accompanying CD-ROM
RRP: £19.97

Reviewed by Peter Dilley

The 'Great Big God' CDs have been amongst the most popular British-made children's worship albums of recent years. For those who don't have the resources to emulate the upbeat rock sound themselves, a full set of backing tracks seems just the ticket. The songs from all four albums (1, 2, 3 and 'Preschoolers') are organised alphabetically by title, with a couple of them - "God You're So Cool" and "Great Big God", featured in both original and gentler "Preschooler" formats. Vocal parts aren't that obvious, so you'd need to get to know the songs pretty well from the full versions first, rather than just leaping in karaoke-style. On CD three, you'll also find CD-ROM extras: chord and lyric sheets for all songs (at this price I'd perhaps expect sheet music too), and miniature Quick Time videos of dance moves for 19 of the best songs, including "Jesus Superhero", "My God Never Goes To Sleep" and "Tiny Little Me". The dancers aren't great or even very enthusiastic, but if you play the video clips through your PC or laptop and a PA system, you get the bonus of abridged versions of those tracks, with the vocals too - a shortcut around buying the other four CDs, and probably almost as useful as the backing tracks themselves.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. All Singing Child [Listen]
2. Amazing God [Listen]
3. Child Of Grace [Listen]
4. Deep Down [Listen]
5. Down On My Knees [Listen]
6. Father God [Listen]
7. Fill Me Up Lord [Listen]
8. Find A Way (To Give You Praise) [Listen]
9. God Of Creation [Listen]
10. God You're Good To Me [Listen]
11. God You're So Cool [Listen]
12. God You're So Cool [Listen]
13. God You're So Good To Me [Listen]
14. God's Love Is Big [Listen]
15. Good News [Listen]
16. Great Big God [Listen]
17. Great Big God [Listen]
18. Here I Am Lord [Listen]
19. He's Jesus [Listen]
20. Hop On The Bus [Listen]
21. Hosanna (Blessed Is The King) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
This MAMMOTH TRIPLE CD collection brings together the backing tracks for all of the fantastic worship songs in the Great Big God series so far - 59 songs on 3 CDs and as an added bonus we've included a CD-ROM with printable chord sheets, lyrics and a selection of dance move videos for key songs.

Whether you are involved in kids worship or if you are a kid who loves worshiping we hope that this triple CD pack, with all it s backing tracks and extras, gives you hours of fun. Now, with this compilation, whenever you worship you can do it accompanied by the same musicians that have appeared on albums such as Come Now Is The Time and Hungry!

It was our hope to provide you with a really valuable resource that will be of great benefit to anyone who uses it.

So grab your guitar, piano, drum or hairbrush, crank up the volume and sing out loud to our Great Big God!!

Reader Comments

Posted by coral in bedford @ 20:59 on Apr 13 2008

I only want three backing track hop on the bus, my God is big, Hosanna God bless you.

Posted by Nathan in Yorkshire @ 09:23 on Jul 12 2006

With regards to the 'at this price I'd expect...' comment, well given that you can download 1 backing track for 4.99 or buy a backing track single for 9.99 (or 7.99 in the sale!), I reackon that 29.97 for 59 tracks is actually quite good value... coz that would be 300 of download or 600 of CD backing track.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.