IDMC - Soul Food

Published Sunday 21st February 2010
IDMC - Soul Food
IDMC - Soul Food

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 85785-15903
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Vince Lee

If you're a long time follower of the British gospel scene you'll know that IDMC are a well established choir, who though never reaching the heights of a LCGC or even ACM Gospel Choir have done sterling work down the years. Into the call and response fire of the old school choir sound director John Fisher has mixed some elements of funk, Motown and even rock, though it's when the choir connects to the heart of worship with soulful tracks like "Cry", "This Is My Desire" and that all time favourite "Amazing Grace" that this set really takes off, though it has to be said that the covers of old soul evergreens like "Higher And Higher" and "Love Train" don't stand up against the originals. If I had to choose a favourite track it would have to be "Falling In Love" with simple lyrics that overflow with truth and transport you out of this world and into the arms of the Heavenly Father. All in all, a strong album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. A Friend [Listen]
2. Not About Me [Listen]
3. Cry [Listen]
4. Prove Me [Listen]
5. Sweetest [Listen]
6. Trying Times [Listen]
7. All I Wanna Do [Listen]
8. It Is To You [Listen]
9. This Is My Desire [Listen]
10. Falling In Love [Listen]
11. Shout To The Lord [Listen]
12. Higher & Higher [Listen]
13. Love Train [Listen]
14. We Are One [Listen]
15. Proclaim It [Listen]
16. All You Need Is Love [Listen]
17. Love [Listen]
18. Dear Jesus [Listen]
19. Amazing Grace [Listen]
20. Soul Food [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.