Imagine This - Love

Tuesday 1st October 1996
Imagine This - Love
Imagine This - Love

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Essential ERCD5595

Reviewed by Joanna Thomas

A wild concoction of delicious experimental sounds with a real sunny influence throughout. Excellent first track with instant beat impact, you've just gotta move. A gutsy basic sound, with yummy earthy rhythms that had me in raptures with its slight folksy flavour. The lyrics made me think of a kite because although I trust the band initiated all the ideas from a Christian perspective and there is a thread of truth prevalent, the words are floating in vague abstracts, so it's not easy to trace them back to the biblical roots. Excellent choice though, for the searching, enquiring mind, plenty of concepts and paraphrases to mull over. What amazed me was the diversity in style which certainly keeps the interest alive and is versatile enough to grab most tastes. I get a sense of creative exploration from the band with the fresh mix/match patchwork of sounds. The Christian theme becomes progressively more evident culminating in the zippiest rendition of "As The Deer" I've heard so far!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Love [Listen]
2. My Son [Listen]
3. All The Answers [Listen]
4. Feel [Listen]
5. Point Of You [Listen]
6. As The Deer [Listen]
7. Shelter [Listen]
8. Munky Jump [Listen]
9. Notta Live [Listen]
10. Fields Of Your Life [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.