Jana Jackson - Trouble Deep Mercy Wide

Published Friday 14th January 2005
Jana Jackson - Trouble Deep Mercy Wide
Jana Jackson - Trouble Deep Mercy Wide

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 12388-1479
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Robert Allwright

Bucking the trend of ultra-modern sounding worship is Jana Jackson. The album sounds like something from early '90s Ron Kenoly, only with a female vocal, mixed with just a little bit of the house of mouse. The title track from the album particularly embodies this quality with a beat sequence and synth from the islands and the vocal and melody coming from the cartoony side. This is not to say that it is unpleasant at all really, it is just a little out of time. Some of Jana's vocal qualities are very pleasant as demonstrated in "For The Love Of Christ", which is sung with a great amount of passion and dedication. Given the range of her vocals it is no surprise to find out that Jana was previously a soloist with the highly rated Nashville Christ Church Choir. Some of her inspirations are artists like Gary Chapman and Ginny Owens (who wrote the final track on the disc, "This Is Why") and I think their influences have actually come across in Jana's choice of song. This album is a great selection of songs about the greatness of God ("The Power Of His Promise") and what our reaction should be to that ("Give Him What You've Got"). Clearly shown are pictures of God bringing people through the difficulties, which I am sure we have all experienced, but perhaps Jana more than many, coping with the difficulty of having to walk by faith and not by sight.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. O Magnify [Listen]
2. Trouble Deep, Mercy Wide [Listen]
3. For The Love Of Christ [Listen]
4. Heart's Cry [Listen]
5. The Power Of His Promise [Listen]
6. You Are In God's Hands [Listen]
7. Out Of Egypt [Listen]
8. Give Him What You've Got [Listen]
9. For Every Mountain [Listen]
10. On The Rock I Stand [Listen]
11. Worthy Of More [Listen]
12. This Is Why [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.