Jason Ingram Band - JIB

Tuesday 1st December 1998
Jason Ingram Band - JIB
Jason Ingram Band - JIB

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: FairHope ARCD1010
RRP: £0.18

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Not to be confused with James Ingram of "Yah Mo Be There" fame, JIB are another of those bands who are beginning to create a bit of a buzz in the USA and this self titled album is actually their second release. Ingram writes compelling catchy tunes and then smothers them with a delicious rootsy rock'n'pop vibe. Comparisons to Jars Of Clay (check out "I Need You"!!!) and Dave Matthews Band are both in order and acoustic guitars definitely reign supreme here! At the rockier end the driving rhythm of both "Coin" and the first single from the album, "Closer Than A Whisper" are characterised by passion and unbeatable melodies. At the quieter end, "Mr Blind Man" builds to a rich intensity as the searching lyrics tug at the heart. "Because Of Your Love" is a testimony and tribute to the lifestyle and faith of Ingram's parents. Errmmmm...cute! "Rhythm Of You" highlights Ingram's vulnerable yowling vocal as he pours on the passion inviting God to set him on fire and it's another memorable chorus ! In fact some of the best moments are when this is stripped down to acoustic guitar and Ingram, his voice and his guitar in the spotlight. In a world of industry built stars, it's great to find a band with wide eyed rock'n'roll honesty. Judging by this, JIB are the real thing!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. What's It Gonna Be Like [Listen]
2. Sin [Listen]
3. Closer Than A Whisper [Listen]
4. Because Of Your Love [Listen]
5. Shadow Of A Wing [Listen]
6. I Need You [Listen]
7. Coin [Listen]
8. Mr. Blind Man [Listen]
9. The Name [Listen]
10. Rhythm Of You [Listen]
11. Ask Of Me [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.