John Michael Talbot - The Troubadour Years

Published Monday 22nd September 2008
John Michael Talbot - The Troubadour Years
John Michael Talbot - The Troubadour Years

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 49088-14716
LABEL: Troubadour For The Lord 0749383464121
RELEASE DATE: 2008-09-05
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

John Michael Talbot had early musical incarnations as a member of a mainstream country rock band, Mason Proffit, and as a hippy Jesus freak before embracing Catholicism and beginning to record liturgical offerings which would expand the genre by bringing in symphonic and acoustic folk elements. In 1992 Talbot began his own record label, Troubadour For The Lord, and this two CD compilation endeavours to highlight the 14 years of recordings that label has released. Starting with tracks from his successful 'The Master Musician', this 34-song set takes in many beautiful moments including his meditational instrumental series, two recordings of Catholic worship songs, choral and orchestral projects and one or two tracks which hark back to his country folk roots of old. John's voice is soothing, the arrangements bring out all the flowing poetry of his lyrics - usually contemplations on Scripture - and the overall effect is like a healing balm. If you are looking for music to soothe rather than excite, you can do no better than investigate this celebration of the veteran's output.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Simple Hearts (Psalm 116) [Listen]
2. One Note [Listen]
3. The Conductor [Listen]
4. Come Holy Spirit (Veni Sancte Spiritus) [Listen]
5. The Word Of God [Listen]
6. I Lift Up My Eyes [Listen]
7. Fan Into Flame [Listen]
8. The Sea -Laudable Exchange [Listen]
9. I Found My Beloved [Listen]
10. Wisdom [Listen]
11. Promise Of St. Francis [Listen]
12. Discipline (The Easy Yoke) [Listen]
13. Why [Listen]
14. Send Forth Your Spirit [Listen]
15. Walk And Follow Jesus [Listen]
16. God Alone Is Enough [Listen]
17. Every Knee Will Bend [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room