Joseph - The Great Commission

Tuesday 13th November 2001
Joseph - The Great Commission
Joseph - The Great Commission

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

This project, based on events from the David Wilkerson book The Cross And The Switchblade, has been a long time in the making. So all power to Ireland's blue-eyed soulman for completing the project and giving us all the chance to swoon over his smokey, bluesy tones which here effortlessly glide across acoustic ballads and funky mid tempo floaters. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is passionately communicated, the production and programming is excellent though considerably laid back (love the slinky BVs of the sistahs on many of the tracks) though there isn't a song here to make it a classic. Joseph's soulfully expressive voice (imagine an amalgamation of Bryan Adams and Joe English) never fails to produce goose pimples. Connoiseurs of great Christian singers should investigate.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Walk On By [Listen]
2. Mama Never Told Me [Listen]
3. Maybe We Can Start Again [Listen]
4. Till Love Set Me Free [Listen]
5. Deep [Listen]
6. New York City [Listen]
7. You're The One I Am Looking For [Listen]
8. I'll Be There [Listen]
9. Precious Child [Listen]
10. Your All [Listen]
11. Thank You [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.