Kairos Ensemble - Psalms

Published Saturday 14th April 2007
Kairos Ensemble - Psalms
Kairos Ensemble - Psalms

RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21280-11887
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by T A Sutherland

Upon first listening to this Middlesex-based ensemble you are immediately comforted by the quality of musicianship as the CD opens up, delivering a varied line up of soulish and modern jazz styles wrapped around worshipful solo lyrics. The ensembles leader Peter James outlines the purpose of the recording; "What attracts me to the Psalms is their passion, honesty and breadth of expression. They articulate the tensions between hope and despair, faith and doubt, exuberant praise and deep mourning. Our aspiration was to capture something of their essence through the music, not set word for word to a particular translation. Improvisation and free musical genres are mixed with more structured song writing to communicate their vitality and freshness." Despite the obvious musicianship of the ensemble, I'm afraid to report that 'Psalms' doesn't live up to Peter's optimism. The often dated easy listening jazz arrangements on this CD sometimes detract from the psalms. However, that said, there are some worthy exceptions including the mysterious eastern vibe of "Tuba Introduction" which leads into the light, soulish, lilting refrains of "Why Are You Downcast My Soul". Shame there aren't more tracks of this standard.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Psalm 18 Have Mercy Lord (Part 1- Petition) [Listen]
2. Psalm 18 Spacious Place (Part 2- Response) [Listen]
3. Psalm 33 Sing To Him A New Song [Listen]
4. Psalm 145 The Lord Is Near [Listen]
5. Psalm 42 Tuba Introduction [Listen]
6. Psalm 42 Why Are You So Downcast My Soul- [Listen]
7. Psalm 103 Praise The Lord O My Soul [Listen]
8. Psalm 81 Sing For Joy [Listen]
9. Psalm 89 The Heavens Are Yours [Listen]
10. Psalm 66 Let The Sound Of His Presence Be Heard [Listen]
11. Psalm 65 Saxophone Introduction [Listen]
12. Psalm 65 O You Who Hear Our Prayer [Listen]
13. Psalm 23 The Lord Is My Shepherd [Listen]
14. Psalm 150 Praise God [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.