Ken Tamplin - Brave Days Of Old

Tuesday 1st February 2000
Ken Tamplin - Brave Days Of Old
Ken Tamplin - Brave Days Of Old

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Z ZR1997020
RRP: £0.18

Reviewed by Alex Figgis

Packed full of invigorating hard rock/metal anthems featuring Tamplin's unique vocal delivery, 'Brave Days Of Old' stands as a fitting milestone in the life of a hugely talented and influential musician. Having spent a short time along-side Chris Impellitteri in '80's metal band Joshua, Tamplin left to form the highly regarded glam rock band Shout. After the release of the band's critically acclaimed In Your Face', Tamplin went on to form progressive speed metal giants Magdallen with former House Of Lord's guitarist Lanny Cordola. After only one album with Magdallen ('91 classic 'Big Bang'), Tamplin brought out a batch of solo recordings, such as the stunning In The Witness Box' ('95) and 'We The People' ('96). To mark the launch of 'Shout Back', the highly anticipated Shout reunion album, Z Records have released 'Brave Days Of Old', boasting a wide range of material spanning Tamplin's prolific recording career. Included on the album are such classic material as "Borderline" (from '89's 'In Your Face') and "Cry Just A Little" ('Big Bang'), as well as two new compositions, "I Just Want To Celebrate" and a cover of "Freeride" by Lynard Skynard, both deftly executed by Tamplin and band. What is immediately evident is Tamplin's hon­esty where he writes about every day experiences from a faithful perspective. Whether speaking out against immorality ("Radio Bikini"), sharing his faith ("Testify") or simply expressing love, as in the power ballad "You Never Give Up", Tamplin never comes across as anything other than sincere. 'Brave Days Of Old' may not be 'modem' in terms of current trends within the rock genre, but you would be hard pressed to find such compelling hard music of this calibre anywhere else. Seek out and enjoy.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Never Stop [Listen]
2. Radio Bikini [Listen]
3. Don't Let The Sky... [Listen]
4. I Just Want To Celebrate [Listen]
5. You Never Give Up [Listen]
6. Borderline [Listen]
7. Cry Just A Little [Listen]
8. Hard Times [Listen]
9. A.D.-B.C. [Listen]
10. Straight Between The Eyes [Listen]
11. Living For My Lord [Listen]
12. Testify [Listen]
13. Freeride [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.