Krissy Nordhoff - Downpour

Published Monday 5th November 2007
Krissy Nordhoff - Downpour
Krissy Nordhoff - Downpour

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 25205-12680
RELEASE DATE: 2007-09-10
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Steve Norman

'Downpour' is Krissy Nordhoff's second release in the UK and follows from her recovery from serious illness. With the help of producer and co-writer Paul Buono, Krissy boldly expresses God's redeeming love and hope that we have through his Son's death on the cross and resurrection into new life. From the first track "Rapture (Carried Away)" you are introduced to a fresh music style that blends hopeful, expectant, vertical, worship lyrics with a mix of pop, rock, acoustic and electronic music overtones. On the ballad "Lay It All Down", we are compelled to cast our burdens, sins and worries at the foot of the Cross and let Jesus carry them. The powerful lyric is accented by guest vocalist Cherie Adams (Avalon), a 20-voice choir and an emotive arrangement by Annie Moses Band. Other highlights on the new album include a duet with former Newsboys bassist/vocalist Phil Joel on their classic worship song "Our King", the epic Easter ballad "Outrageous Love" and the moving title track. Including full chord charts and lyric sheets on an enhanced CD, this is a must have project.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Rapture (Carried Away) [Listen]
2. Endure [Listen]
3. Lay It All Down [Listen]
4. Raise The Roof [Listen]
5. Our King [Listen]
6. Downpour [Listen]
7. Lift [Listen]
8. My Fathers World [Listen]
9. Outrageous Love [Listen]
10. Love Me God [Listen]
11. You Don't Change [Listen]
12. Prince Of Peace [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.