Lads - lost@sea

Wednesday 1st December 1999
Lads - lost@sea
Lads - lost@sea

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Cross Driven
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Philip Child

As 'Lost @ Sea' is slightly more polished than its rough-around-the-edges predecessor, 'Arbor Day', it may well be preferred by the purist. Again, the rockers from New Zealand bring forth comparisons with other bands: "My Forever Smoochy Girl" commences in much the same way as "Another World" by the Only Ones; "Understand" is swimming in the same waters as Caedmon's Call; "The Temptations" sounds as if the Lads borrowed Steve's instruments, while someone could almost have stolen "Coming Home" from Robbie Williams (as opposed to the other way round). Yet once again, to compare simply does not cover the ground. The gentle majesty of "Alone" has the power to send shivers down your spine with the way in which it expresses both a need and a desire for Jesus, while the '60s psycadellic punk tinged "Beetroot Strain" can set your feet tapping on their own accord. Overall, the album adopts quite an askew perspective which subverts, rather than bypasses, modern secular culture although the lyrics are perhaps more immediately relevant to young adults than anyone else. With its more polished production, this should perhaps dictate your choice between this and 'Arbor Day'. Alternatively, buy them both.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lost @ Sea [Listen]
2. My Forever Smoochy Girl [Listen]
3. Town [Listen]
4. Astronaut [Listen]
5. Alone [Listen]
6. Beetroot Stain [Listen]
7. Unusual [Listen]
8. The Temptations [Listen]
9. Carry Me Through [Listen]
10. Understand [Listen]
11. Coming Home [Listen]
12. Ode To Joy [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.