Mali Music - The 2econd Coming

Published Tuesday 2nd February 2010
Mali Music - The 2econd Coming
Mali Music - The 2econd Coming

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 86672-16166
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Cross Rhythms beloved broadcaster and journo is to be credited for discovering this gem of an album amongst the multitude of self-produced music which clogs the world wide web. Mali Music is an American studio whiz and singer who, in his home-based studio creates music that proclaims the gospel with power but never falls into the clichés of much trad gospel and urban/hip-hop. Songs like "In The Light", "I Hate U" and "No Muzick" just demonstrate his versatility with the latter being a cleverly observed tribute to the brilliantly executed clapping that goes on in Mali Music's church! With America's black gospel radio demonstrating the same kind of deeply conservative opposition to anything innovative it's going to be a tough climb before this unique talent is up there with the Kirk Frankins and the Mary Marys. But he sure deserves to get there.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Light [Listen]
2. Nohin 2 Hard [Listen]
3. Impulses [Listen]
4. Broken Spirit [Listen]
5. Conqueror [Listen]
6. I Hate U [Listen]
7. Heart's Song [Listen]
8. Available [Listen]
9. Higher [Listen]
10. No Muzick [Listen]
11. Glory To The Lamb [Listen]
12. All I Have To Give [Listen]
13. Forward [Listen]
14. Gimme Gimme [Listen]
15. Nu Creature [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.