Martyn Joseph - Nobody's Fool/Sold Out

Sunday 1st June 1997
Martyn Joseph - Nobody's Fool/Sold Out
Martyn Joseph - Nobody's Fool/Sold Out

RATING 4 4 4 4
LABEL: Myrrh MYRCD1313
RRP: £2.50

Reviewed by Tricia Campbell

With 14 years of recording and nine albums to his name, it is undeniable that Welshman Martyn Joseph has established himself as a pioneer of Christian contemporary music. I'm sure the more mature of you can remember a time when cool Christian music was very rare. But then came the '80s and with it inspired new artists such as Martyn Joseph. First released in '84 and '86, the now re-issued 'Nobody's Fool' and 'Sold Out' are a step back into the '80s, a time I can only just about remember! Martyn has a great voice, sometimes sounding a tiny bit like David Bowie and Bryan Adams, the lyrics are very good, if a little repetitive and the accompaniments sound like competent session musos furiously trying to overcome tiny recording budgets and play the same pop and rock licks they could hear in the charts. There's even a reggae tune. 'Sold Out' is better produced than 'Nobody's Fool', in which some of the songs are unquestionably corny.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Giving It Up [Listen]
2. Nobody's Fool [Listen]
3. Do It! [Listen]
4. As You Intend [Listen]
5. Song Of A Proud Man [Listen]
6. Hungry For Heaven [Listen]
7. Pick Me Up Again [Listen]
8. What Can I Do- [Listen]
9. Peace Like A River [Listen]
10. Psalm 127 (Unless The Lord) [Listen]
11. Sold Out [Listen]
12. The Power Of Your Love [Listen]
13. Beautiful Woman [Listen]
14. Jealous Love [Listen]
15. I've Put My Life In His Hands [Listen]
16. Dance Out Of The Shadows [Listen]
17. Heaven She Said [Listen]
18. Look Into His Eyes [Listen]
19. Standing On Tiptoe [Listen]
20. Time After Time [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room