Mitch McVicker - Chasing The Horizon

Wednesday 4th July 2001
Mitch McVicker - Chasing The Horizon
Mitch McVicker - Chasing The Horizon

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Grassroots
RRP: £16.99

Reviewed by Steve Best

Swampy atmospheric pop with an all-star line up including Rick Elias, Phil Madeira, Riki Michele (ex-Adam Again) and Steve Hindalong (The Choir). Much of this release is self-penned with the exception of a relaxed late afternoon take of Rich Mullins' "When You Love". Touchingly, Rich is remembered later on in the set with Mitch's own "Rich's Song" with a Mullins-esque delivery, authentic hammer dulcimer (a touch Rich would have liked) and the words "From the day that you were born/He was calling you home/And you finally made it home.".

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Emmanuel [Listen]
2. Strength To Move [Listen]
3. Upside Down [Listen]
4. When You Love [Listen]
5. Suits Of Skin [Listen]
6. Watch Over Me [Listen]
7. Anything [Listen]
8. It Won't Take Long [Listen]
9. Burning The Fields [Listen]
10. Rich's Song [Listen]
11. Where Did It Go- [Listen]
12. Kingdom Of The Heart [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.