Mitch McVicker - Without Looking Down

Monday 6th January 2003
Mitch McVicker - Without Looking Down
Mitch McVicker - Without Looking Down

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tim Walker

Mitch McVicker was a passenger in the car in which Rich Mullins died, and was himself seriously injured. Since recovering, he has put out two independent releases, and ‘Without Looking Down’ is his first output for a "major" (Ray Boltz' Spindust label). It's an appealing collection of alternative rock with some more rootsy moments, reminiscent of what this writer has heard of Rich Mullins' work; indeed, this CD has been described by one article as a "tribute" from McVicker to his mentor, though if true, this is done in a subtle and non-intrusive way. This writer particularly appreciated the track "Don't Let Your Heart Be Troubled", which clearly came from its writer's heart and personal experience, as well as some interesting musical elements (eg, the phased strings on the above song). Hopefully, this fine major-label debut by one of America's most underrated singer/songwriters will be followed by many others in the years ahead.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. You Have Everything [Listen]
2. Take The Wheel [Listen]
3. I Need You Jesus [Listen]
4. Turning Tables [Listen]
5. Stargazer [Listen]
6. Nowhere Else [Listen]
7. Don't Let Your Heart Be Troubled [Listen]
8. The Lion Lays Down [Listen]
9. Deeper In Love [Listen]
10. Midnight In Madison [Listen]
11. Camelsong [Listen]
12. Not Holy Just Yet [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.