Moya Brennan - Heart Strings

Published Monday 22nd September 2008
Moya Brennan - Heart Strings
Moya Brennan - Heart Strings

STYLE: Celtic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 49152-14764
RELEASE DATE: 2008-09-15

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

When I first heard this was a live recording Moya had made with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra I feared the worst. Too often in the past when pop talents had got to the prestigious heights of recording with symphonians the end result has been a mish mash of styles with florid string arrangements drowning out much of the pop rock appeal. But here the orchestra is kept firmly in place (and on several tracks is inaudible). Instead it's the wonderful band assembled by Moya, with Eamonn Galldubh (uilleann pipes, flute, whistle), Sinead Madden (fiddle) and Paul Byrne (drums, bodhran), who carry the haunting accompaniments to Moya's goose-bump-inducing voice. The sound is splendid though it has to be said the audience can hardly be heard. What does stand out are fine, at times beautiful vocals from Moya taking in material from her Christian projects and going back as far as her days with Clannad when "Harry's Game" and "I Will Find You" from The Last Of The Mohicans first thrilled us. A thrilling performance which truly touches the heart strings.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Tapestry [Listen]
2. Perfect Time [Listen]
3. Mhorag's Na Horo Gheallaidh [Listen]
4. Alasdair MacColla [Listen]
5. Molly Fair [Listen]
6. Sailing Away [Listen]
7. Gone Are The Days [Listen]
8. Tunes Medley [Listen]
9. I Will Find You [Listen]
10. Merry-Go-Round [Listen]
11. No One Talks [Listen]
12. In A Lifetime [Listen]
13. Against The Wind [Listen]
14. Track 14 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.