Narrow Skies - Seasons

Published Thursday 31st May 2018
Narrow Skies - Seasons
Narrow Skies - Seasons

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 169143-26607
LABEL: Independent
FORMAT: Digital Only Album

Reviewed by John Farrington

'Seasons' is Narrow Skies debut album compiled of four EP releases from Sweden-based duo Anita and Ben Tatlow. As the title might suggest nature is the over-arching theme and inspiration for this latest project by the duo who also, of course, use the name Salt Of The Sound. Beginning with Summer and ending with Spring, the collection of songs are wrapped in an optimistic narrative but not without journeying through the loss and longing of Autumn and Winter in between. Anita's hopeful harmonies prominent in both "Open Road" and "The River" offer a sense of adventure emphasised further by the gentle percussion underneath and reaching a climax upon the line "Oh be strong and don't let go" in "The River". The soothing, dreamy soundscapes that this couple so effortlessly create are what carry this album. In "A Memory Remains" which begins with a sombre piano, the sounds are elegantly layered over one another until an instrumental crescendo is reached with a wave of synth, like a river making its way to the ocean. The Tatlows' love for the Nordics is felt throughout this album and no more than on "With You", a song reminiscent of Imogen Heap with its electronic washes and split vocals. As a whole, I would have liked to hear more integration of different sounds to maintain the listener's interest throughout whilst perhaps developing some stronger melodies, but to have on in the background whilst counting the stars or laying in the hot of the sun it works very well. For lovers of Olafur Arnalds and Sleeping At Last you can be sure to add 'Seasons' to your relaxation and dreaming collection.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I Want The Wind To Carry Me [Listen]
2. Open Road [Listen]
3. The River [Listen]
4. Nightfall Embers [Listen]
5. A Memory Remains [Listen]
6. Whispers [Listen]
7. Winds Of Change [Listen]
8. You Won't Find Me [Listen]
9. Winters Past [Listen]
10. With You [Listen]
11. Transitions [Listen]
12. Chasing The Sun [Listen]
13. Hands Of Time [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.