Nina Astrom - A Friend

Tuesday 1st February 2000
Nina Astrom - A Friend
Nina Astrom - A Friend

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Javelin JAV4101

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Chris Tozer

Nina Astrom first came to prominence in Britain during a brief tour with Julie Miller. Now, Finland's answer to Janis Ian, is back with a new album, largely co-written with Gerril aan't Goor from Holland. Between them they have come up with a thoughtful collection of laid-back songs that reflect the paradoxes of daily living. "Hold On And Let Go" examines changing family relationships whilst "Every Little Tear" looks at how today's hero could well be the one in need tomorrow. Lyrically, they tread a path blazed by many before them, yet somehow they have managed to bring a fresh touch - no easy task considering that English is not their mother tongue. "Waiting For The Day" mourns a stillborn child whilst "No Automatic Pilot" deals with divorce. This certainly isn't an album full of easy answers but rather one that raises issues that merit our consideration. A tasteful, neo-Celtic production brings out the best in Ms Astrom's melodies and also enhances a superb version of Carole King's "You've Got A Friend". Nice one Nina - keep up the good work.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Hold On And Let Go [Listen]
2. Every Little Tear [Listen]
3. Why Me [Listen]
4. Waiting For The Day [Listen]
5. Lilian [Listen]
6. No Automatic Pilot [Listen]
7. You've Got A Friend [Listen]
8. Decorating [Listen]
9. It's Hard [Listen]
10. You Made My Day [Listen]
11. The Moment [Listen]
12. A Friend [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.