Norma Jean - Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child

Friday 8th November 2002
Norma Jean - Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child
Norma Jean - Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Solid State TND38956
RELEASE DATE: 2002-09-20
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Seattle-based label Solid State seem adept at serving up a roster of bands who take Extreme Music to new extremes! Juxtaposing a sepia album cover with old fashioned photos with teeth rattling hardcore music might mean that an occasional granny will die a premature death picking this out of the racks thinking that Norma Jean make nice music. But then why would your granny be thumbing through racks of CDs in the rock section in the first place? Hey, you could have fun relocating this CD in the easy listening section of your local record store! Anyway, what you get is an hour of unrelenting guitar noise by this great bunch who used to record as Luti Kriss. Particularly rivetting are Scottie Henry's growling, shrieked vocals. Don't need to tell you more than that. If hard is how you like it, Norma Jean should be on your shopping list.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Entire World Is Counting On Me, And They Don't Even Know It [Listen]
2. Face-Face [Listen]
3. Memphis Will Be Laid To Waste [Listen]
4. Creating Something Out Of Nothing, Only To Destroy It [Listen]
5. Pretty Soon, I Don't Know What, But Something Is Going To Happen [Listen]
6. The Shotgun Message [Listen]
7. Sometimes It's Our Mistakes That Make For The Greatest Ideas [Listen]
8. I Used To Hate Cell Phones But Now I Hate Car Accidents [Listen]
9. It Was As If The Dead Man Stood Upon The Air [Listen]
10. The Human Face, Divine [Listen]
11. Organized Beyond Recognition [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.