Norma Jean - O' God, The Aftermath

Published Saturday 22nd October 2005
Norma Jean - O' God, The Aftermath
Norma Jean - O' God, The Aftermath

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 12908-2510
LABEL: Solid State TND75392
RRP: £1.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

One Cross Rhythms reviewer who heard this album was distinctly unimpressed, seemingly hearing little beyond a cacophonous noise. Q magazine on the other hand were enthusiastic. Certainly the music here is not for the faint hearted. It goes beyond metal and hardcore into a primal brew of cathartic pain. Vocalist Corey Brandon (formerly Eso-Charis) positively rages on the song "Bayonetwork". As he rasps "This is between me and this blade! And my heart," and the guitar, bass and drums rage around him the sound is brutal yet somehow retains a strange elegance. There are long instrumental passages and some hypnotic riffing and complex drum fills hinting that the band are moving slowly into prog metal. Since their club tours of the UK, Norma Jean have found a growing non-Christian audience. It remains to be seen though how much spiritual edification non-Christian headbangers will derive from 'O God, The Aftermath'. Even HM magazine commented that it was "so utterly mysterious, revolting, and deformed that the 'unsaved' won't realise its spiritual virility."

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Murderotica (An Avalanche In D Minor) [Listen]
2. Vertebraille (Choke That Thief Called Dependence) [Listen]
3. Bayonetwork (Vultures In Vivid Color) [Listen]
4. Dilemmachine (Coalition, Hoax) [Listen]
5. Coffinspire (Multitudes, Multitudes In The Valley Of Decision) [Listen]
6. Liarsenic (Creating A Universe Of Discourse) [Listen]
7. Disconnecktie (The Faithful Vampire) [Listen]
8. Absentimental (Street Clam) [Listen]
9. Charactarantula (Talking To You And The Intake Of Glass) [Listen]
10. Pretendeavor (In Reference To A Sinking Ship) [Listen]
11. Scientifiction (I. A Clot Of Tragedy; II. A Swarm Of Dedication) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.