Pam Andrews - Solid Rock Café

Published Monday 27th November 2006
Pam Andrews - Solid Rock Café
Pam Andrews - Solid Rock Café

STYLE: Childrens
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 17617-11628
LABEL: Integrity 000768247822
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Elizabeth Cook

'Solid Rock Cafe' is an inspirational CD for young children, to help them remember encouraging verses from the Bible. Released by Integrity Music, the concept for the CD was created by Pam Andrews and arranged by John DeVries. Pam explains, "In recent days, I have noticed the many trials children seem to be facing - a home life that can be plagued with divorce or other trying situations, pressures at school to belong and fit in, bullies that can make life fearful and the fact that there is evil in this world that can harm them. But in the midst of evil, I am confident that there is hope in Jesus Christ." Set in the 'Solid Rock Cafe', the album focuses on a group of students travelling to a music festival. The students arrive at the cafe with several problems, including a lead singer with a sore throat, a drummer without his drums, and a broken down van. The staff at the 'Solid Rock Cafe' help to renew the bands' spirits with a few "recipes" from Chef Bubba's book. The album contains scenes and songs which speak of God's constant presence and help in our lives. It clearly and soundly explains God's message, however the actor's voices and the content of the CD means it has a limited audience of children most likely to be within the age group of 6-9 years old. I'm not sure either that it's the kind of album you would sit down and listen regularly to on your own, simply because the songs are split by lengthy sections of talking. 'Solid Rock Cafe' is a great up-beat teaching aid and should be made into a CD/DVD, so that pictures accompany the words and songs. This I feel would make it more versatile to use in situations such as children's slots on a Sunday morning, which would be the ideal use of this project.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Overture (Solid Rock Cafe) [Listen]
2. Solid Rock Cafe [Listen]
3. Scene One [Listen]
4. Wise Man-foolish Man Rap [Listen]
5. Scene Two [Listen]
6. Heavenly Helper [Listen]
7. Scene Three [Listen]
8. Bubba's Goodtime Gospel Shake [Listen]
9. Scene Four [Listen]
10. I Just Give Thanks [Listen]
11. Scene Five [Listen]
12. Rock Of Ages-Here Stands Jesus [Listen]
13. Scene Six [Listen]
14. Praise Medley [Listen]
15. Scene Seven [Listen]
16. The Solid Rock [Listen]
17. Scene Eight [Listen]
18. Finale (Solid Rock Cafe) [Listen]
19. Bow Music [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
The story begins with a kid's praise team heading for a festival when they encounter difficulties along the way. With help from the Solid Rock Café staff, they discover the Bible has all of the answers.
This encouraging musical features upbeat praise songs, entertaining drama, and is perfect for children's choirs, and special events.
Music, scenes, narration, and production notes are included in the songbook. Other supporting products include a Split Trax CD,& and a full Resource Kit containing lesson plans, movement ideas and more for each song.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.