Paul Oakley, Lara Martin, Noel Richards, David Gate - 4x4 V4

Published Friday 30th June 2006
Paul Oakley, Lara Martin, Noel Richards, David Gate - 4x4 V4
Paul Oakley, Lara Martin, Noel Richards, David Gate - 4x4 V4

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 18617-10016
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD2698
RELEASE DATE: 2006-06-23
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

The 4x4 series from Kingsway has nothing to do with Land Rovers or SUVs, and all to do with worship music from some of the UK's many excellent praise and worship leaders and songwriters. Thus in the fourth of the series (hence the V4), Lara Martin of Abundant Life Ministries, Bradford rubs shoulders with veteran Noel Richards, not-quite-so-veteran Paul Oakley and rising star David Gate. As a sampler it works fine, it's good value at 16 tracks and over 77 minutes, and there are only a couple of familiar songs (David's "Led To The Lost" and Paul's "Jesus Lover Of My Soul (It's All About You)" that you might already have in your CD rack. My only quibble is that the mix of styles doesn't make for a homogeneous listening experience, nevertheless it may be worth a look if you're not familiar with any of these guys' music.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. David Gate - Extravagant Magnificent [Listen]
2. Noel Richards - When The Way Ahead Is Not Clear (Could You) [Listen]
3. Lara Martin - We Are Joined By Angels [Listen]
4. David Gate - Hands On The Cross [Listen]
5. Paul Oakley - There Is A Voice That Must Be Heard (Friend Of Sinners) [Listen]
6. Noel Richards - Jesus Christ (All My Love) [Listen]
7. Lara Martin - I Am Amazed (Your Grace Covers Me) [Listen]
8. David Gate - Praise (At The Foot Of The Cross) [Listen]
9. Paul Oakley - Jesus Lover Of My Soul (It's All About You) [Listen]
10. Lara Martin - As High As The Heavens Are Above The Earth (Voice Of Hope) [Listen]
11. Paul Oakley - I Have Come To Love You [Listen]
12. David Gate - I Know You Love An Offering (Led To The Lost) [Listen]
13. Noel Richards - How Easy We Forget (Break Our Hearts Again) [Listen]
14. Paul Oakley - Be Lifted Up [Listen]
15. Lara Martin - Glory To Him Who Has Saved (We Crown You Now) [Listen]
16. Noel Richards - When We Turn Our Hearts To Heaven (Dreamers Of Your Dreams) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.