Pete James - All Or Nothing

Published Wednesday 30th April 2014
Pete James - All Or Nothing
Pete James - All Or Nothing

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 148965-21913
LABEL: Elevation ELE1996D
RELEASE DATE: 2014-03-23
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

Sheffield-based worship leader and Spring Harvest regular Pete gets off to a promising start on his latest album with the dance-tinged "Prepare The Way" and the Sue Rinaldi co-write "All God's Children" - both of which praise God in upbeat fashion. Proceedings soon default to standard worship mode with the likes of the similarly-paced "God, You Are My God", "Upon This Rock", "Faith" and "Standing At The Cross" all employing the well-used technique of a quiet start followed by a slow pounding build that can be found on countless other modern worship albums. Elsewhere, a rewritten version of the old hymn "What A Friend We Have In Jesus" - complete with a new melody that unfortunately makes Joseph Scriven's lyrics sound like a run of the mill worship song - fails to make the grade but matters rally near the end with the anthemic "We're Coming Home" and the gorgeous song of reflection "Talk To Jesus" - both of which round off a competent enough release from Mr James.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Prepare The Way [Listen]
2. All God's Children [Listen]
3. All Or Nothing [Listen]
4. God, You Are My God [Listen]
5. What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
6. Psalm 103 [Listen]
7. Upon This Rock [Listen]
8. Faith [Listen]
9. Standing At The Cross [Listen]
10. We're Coming Home [Listen]
11. Talk To Jesus [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Energy and intimacy collide to produce eleven outstanding songs from lead worshipper Pete James in his follow up to the acclaimed My Heart Is Singing Loud.

Brand new, high-voltage declarations of praise in All Godís Children and Prepare The Way sit wonderfully with the tender, honest reflections of Upon This Rock and Talk To JesusÖ and re-styled and re-imagined, the much-loved hymn What A Friend We Have In Jesus has already impacted thousands.

Each song on All Or Nothing carries a clear and striking message of commitment - exploring Godís love for the world and Peteís devotion to follow Christ.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.