Randy Stonehill - Welcome To Paradise (with six bonus tracks)

Tuesday 1st July 2003
Randy Stonehill - Welcome To Paradise (with six bonus tracks)
Randy Stonehill - Welcome To Paradise (with six bonus tracks)

STYLE: Jesus Music
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Solid Rock SRD002
RRP: £15.99

Reviewed by Dougie Adam

One of the most requested CD reissues in CCM history is now available. Indeed 'Welcome To Paradise' has been on sale in CD format for over six months now and has almost sold out. This album is usually listed as the best in Randy's 30 years plus recording career and one of the most significant, groundbreaking Christian albums from the tail end of the pioneering Jesus Movement era. All 10 classic tracks from the original album recorded in 1975 are here and digitally remastered from the original multitrack tapes. Six bonus tracks from the pre-production demo sessions have been added. Thus we have Stonehill singing "Janet" and accompanying himself on acoustic guitar on the first bonus track before deciding to change the girl's name and song title to Sarah on the album proper. The demos of the "The Winner" and "Keep Me Running" are a delight as they highlight Stonehill's dexterity with the acoustic guitar. The CD booklet also deserves praise, with producer's notes from Larry, the song lyrics and Randy's memories of the sessions and song by song explanations all nicely presented and accompanied with previously unpublished black and white photographs from the sessions. In summary, here we have some of Stonehill's most enduring and instantly appealing songs, produced by Larry Norman and engineered by Andy Johns (of Rolling Stones and Led Zep fame) meticulously remastered and nicely packaged. Get the picture?

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. King Of Hearts [Listen]
2. Keep Me Runnin' [Listen]
3. The Winner (High Card) [Listen]
4. Lung Cancer [Listen]
5. Puppet Strings [Listen]
6. First Prayer [Listen]
7. I've Got News For You [Listen]
8. Song For Sarah [Listen]
9. Christmas Song For All Year 'Round [Listen]
10. Good News [Listen]
11. Janet [Listen]
12. The Winner [Listen]
13. News For You [Listen]
14. Keep Me Running [Listen]
15. Let Me Do It [Listen]
16. Randy & Larry Writing Heart Lock [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room