Randy Travis - Worship & Faith

Wednesday 7th January 2004
Randy Travis - Worship & Faith
Randy Travis - Worship & Faith

STYLE: Country
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Word 8862732
RELEASE DATE: 2003-11-07
RRP: £10.20

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Randy’s last album produced a stone classic in “Three Wooden Crosses” and I have to report this album doesn’t contain a song of such epic proportions. And I’m not sure that the jaunty Western swing flavoured “He’s My Rock, My Sword, My Shield” was the best opener for this new set. But soon one of the greatest voices in country gets to work and the ‘30s Southern gospel gem “Farther Along” comes off beautifully. Throughout the accompaniments are deft and stripped won so the full majesty of the words of “How Great Thou Art”, “Blessed Assurance” and “Softly And Tenderly” are rescued from the maudlin melodrama that so often surround them. A particularly delight is the duet between Randy and John Anderson (the country man, not the rock star) on “Just A Closer Walk With Thee” while surprisingly both the David Ruis song “You Are Worthy Of My Praise” and the unexpected vocal contribution of Third Day’s Mac Powell on “Love Lifted Me” don’t sound at all out of place in such down home surroundings. Timeless country gospel from a great talent.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. He's My Rock, My Sword, My Shield [Listen]
2. Farther Along [Listen]
3. How Great Thou Art [Listen]
4. Just A Closer Walk With Thee [Listen]
5. Shall We Gather At The Rver [Listen]
6. You Are Worthy Of My Praise [Listen]
7. Love Lifted Me [Listen]
8. Softly And Tenderly [Listen]
9. Sweet By And By [Listen]
10. Blessed Assurance [Listen]
11. I'll Fly Away [Listen]
12. Turn Your Radio On [Listen]
13. Open The Eyes Of My Heart [Listen]
14. In The Garden [Listen]
15. Above All [Listen]
16. Will The Circle Be Unbroken [Listen]
17. We Fall Down [Listen]
18. Peace In The Valley [Listen]
19. The Unclouded Day [Listen]
20. Room At The Cross For You [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Courts of Praise
Get close to God, be extravagant in declaring your love for Him in our Prayer Room