Rebecca Ferguson - Heaven Deluxe Edition

Published Friday 2nd November 2012
Rebecca Ferguson - Heaven Deluxe Edition
Rebecca Ferguson - Heaven Deluxe Edition

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 131773-19729

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

When Cross Rhythms reviewed the original version of this 2011 album we called it "a tremendous debut" and as it has clocked up half a million sales clearly Joe Public agrees. Now, as is the habit of record companies these days, the hit album has been re-released in a Deluxe Edition (which in this case means five additional tracks). Although these new recordings don't quite reach the classic levels of "Glitter & Gold" and "Nothing's Real But Love" there are still indications that the Liverpudlian songstress is one of the brightest talents to emerge in Britain's pop and R&B scene for years. The current chart hit "Backtrack" is a finger-snapping goody with a bit of the old Motown groove about it while "Good Days Bad Days" is a wistful soul pop number. Equally impressive is her version of Aqualungs' "Strange & Beautiful (I'll Put A Spell On You)" which she performed during her UK tour. Less successful is the big orchestral ballad "I'll Count The Days". All in all though, the repackaging succeeds as a further enticement to shell out on a gem of modern R&B.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Nothing's Real But Love [Listen]
2. Glitter & Gold [Listen]
3. Shoulder To Shoulder [Listen]
4. Fairytale (Let Me Live My Life This Way) [Listen]
5. Mr Bright Eyes [Listen]
6. Fighting Suspicions [Listen]
7. Teach Me How To Be Loved [Listen]
8. Run Free [Listen]
9. Diamond To Stone [Listen]
10. Too Good To Lose [Listen]
11. Backtrack [Listen]
12. Strange & Beautiful (I'll Put A Spell On You) [Listen]
13. Good Days, Bad Days [Listen]
14. I'll Count The Days [Listen]
15. I'll Take Care Of You (Live At Liverpool Echo Arena) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.