Rev Johnny Blakey, Rev M L Gipson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1927-1929

Published Thursday 6th September 2007
Rev Johnny Blakey, Rev M L Gipson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1927-1929
Rev Johnny Blakey, Rev M L Gipson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order  1927-1929

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21361-12057
LABEL: Document DOCD5363
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Andy Cooper

Another reissue of vintage material from the pioneering Document Records, this time featuring two highly charged Chicago preachers. The word "raucous" is barely adequate to describe the barking delivery of Rev Robert Blakey. He is joined by un-named members of his congregation on backing vocals, but they only sing one or two lines at the beginning of each track as an introduction to the sermon. Then it is part sung, part hollered in a style mimicked in many a comedy film such as the Blues Brothers. There's even a "huh" at the end of each phrase and sporadic explanations of "Amen" and "Preach the Word" by the congregation. Rev M L Gipson is a bit more palatable to non-African American ears, using guitar or piano accompaniment, more skilled backing singers and a more melodic preaching style. Unfortunately it is difficult to appreciate the content of the sermons due to the aged recording quality (try listening to the radio in a tent during a rainstorm), while it's difficult to purely appreciate the music due to the mediocre and over repetitive melodies often used here. Consequently, this release is strictly for collectors and historians.or comedians?

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. On This Rock I Will Build My Church [Listen]
2. The Scarlet Thread In The Window [Listen]
3. Settling Time [Listen]
4. The Sainted Devil [Listen]
5. Fourteen Steps To Hell [Listen]
6. Loose Him And Let Him Go [Listen]
7. The COming King [Listen]
8. Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled [Listen]
9. From The Parlor To The Pig Pen [Listen]
10. The Horse Paweth In The Valley [Listen]
11. Let The Light Shine On Me [Listen]
12. I'm Trying To Make Heaven My Home [Listen]
13. I'm On My Way To Heaven [Listen]
14. Warming By The Devil's Fire [Listen]
15. Where The Black Man Came From [Listen]
16. Will The Circle Be Unbroken [Listen]
17. Sympathetic Christ [Listen]
18. John Done Saw That Holy Number [Listen]
19. God Will Protect His Own [Listen]
20. Judgment Is Coming Afterwhile [Listen]
21. The Church [Listen]
22. The Way My Lord Leave Me [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.