Rhett Walker Band - Here's To The Ones Deluxe

Published Friday 5th December 2014
Rhett Walker Band - Here's To The Ones Deluxe
Rhett Walker Band - Here's To The Ones Deluxe

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 153127-22545
LABEL: Sony 083061098629
RELEASE DATE: 2014-10-27
RRP: £12.99

Reviewed by Tim Holden

Rhett Walker Band's second record label album outing continues the gritty Southern rock sound with attitude. The spoken intro to the opening track "Clone" gives way to raw grunge guitar riffs and strong lyrics about not fitting in to the world's pattern. The title track looks at small town America in a very John Mellencamp style before heading back to a more driving rock sound in "Adam's Son" and the spooky intro for "Dead Man" really fits the songs title. The album covers a lot of ground lyrically as well as musically, from "Amazed", which looks at not living so fast we miss God's amazing world, through "Someone Else's Song" and "Broken Man" which tackle relationships and life in general in a fallen world and having to rely on God's grace - and all handled with maturity. All this is delivered with powerful, bluesy vocals over a full and driving guitar-led sound. If it is rock with more than a hint of southern flavour and a bit of spiritual meat to the lyrics you're looking for, then 'Here's To The Ones' is definitely an album to get hold of.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Clone [Listen]
2. Here's To The Ones [Listen]
3. Love Like Jesus [Listen]
4. Adam's Son [Listen]
5. Dead Man [Listen]
6. The Mystery [Listen]
7. The Other Side [Listen]
8. Amazed [Listen]
9. Better Part Of Me [Listen]
10. Someone Else's Song [Listen]
11. Broken Man [Listen]
12. Lift Me Up [Listen]
13. Welcome Home [Listen]
14. Takin' Care Of Business [Listen]
15. Gonna Be Alright (Live) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
After bursting onto the scene with the smash hit When Mercy Found Me in 2012, Rhett and his band of brothers have carved out a unique place in Christian music blending pop, rock and rootsy Americana into a sound that reaches an ever-growing audience. Meanwhile, themes of faith, family and country continue to be at the core of Rhett Walker Bandís music.

Key songs on the album include the new radio single Amazed as well as Love Like Jesus and Better Part of Me which takes an honest look at marriage and supporting oneís spouse. The anthemic title track Hereís to the Ones salutes and honours those who work hard to support their families and who stand up for their faith. The band continues to write and sing songs that are filled with honesty about brokenness and the hope and strength we can find through faith in God.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.