Rob Baker - Take My Hands

Thursday 1st January 2004
Rob Baker - Take My Hands
Rob Baker - Take My Hands

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Dustin Helgeson

Pianist Rob Barker decided to undertake a themed album of solo piano with underlining spiritual messages. It works with varying degrees of success. He describes the spiritual context and thought behind each song in the album sleeve to help you feel this music more. The album starts with “The Resurrection And The Life”, inspired scripturally by John 11:25 and musically by background music heard on Hollywood films. “Through The Valley” is a piece meant to be both mournful and comforting with beautiful lush chord sequences and melodies. The attempt at spiritual depth on this album is commendable. The calming, quiet, beautiful compositions by Rob Baker have the natural effect of being relaxing. The music acts as a great tool to put children to sleep. For the child in me, sleep is a great thing, but I would prefer more dynamic change to keep me interested from song to song. Minor issues aside, this is a good instrumental album, encouraging me to “lay my heavy burden down” (aka my gargantuan head). Even better, it’s for a worthy cause: five pounds from the sale of every copy is donated to famed Christian aid agency World Vision.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Resurrection and the Life [Listen]
2. It's Your Kindness [Listen]
3. Through The Valley [Listen]
4. There Is Hope [Listen]
5. Carillon For The Children Of Eritrea [Listen]
6. Justice For All Nations [Listen]
7. Song For Judy [Listen]
8. With Outstretched Hands [Listen]
9. Eternity Starts Here [Listen]
10. The Dove Descending [Listen]
11. Wait For The Lord [Listen]
12. Take My Hands [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.