Ron Winans - Family & Friends 5: A Celebration

Published Tuesday 26th July 2005
Ron Winans - Family & Friends 5: A Celebration
Ron Winans - Family & Friends 5: A Celebration

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 13127-2859
LABEL: Entheos 82177701824
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Recorded live at the Greater Grace Temple mega church in Detroit, just a few months before Ronald's sad death, this indeed features a cavalcade of guests to add star status to the soulful proceedings. Brother and sister Marvin and CeCe are on hand as well as The Katinas, Vanessa Bell Armstrong and Rance Allen. One of the surprising moments is just how uninhibited Gladys Knight sounds when she duets with Marvin on "Can't Help But Love Him" though the theologically inclined may question Mormon Gladys' contribution to the proceedings. Two of the best performances come from Western Samoans The Katinas who soulfully emote on "My Father's House" and Ron himself singing "I Shall Not Die But Live". But as I mentioned in the DVD review, in view of Ron's death, a song with such lyrics is listened to with no little sadness.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Lord Has Been Good [Listen]
2. My Fathers House (feat. The Katinas) [Listen]
3. Can't Help But Love Him (feat. Marvin Winans And Gladys Knight) [Listen]
4. Standing Here (feat. Jesse Cambell) [Listen]
5. My Help (feat. Ron And CeCe Winans) [Listen]
6. Salvation Is Free (feat. Vanessa Bell Armstrong) [Listen]
7. I Made A Promise (feat. Rance Allen, Marcus Cole, Shaun McLemore, Ron Winans And Agee Smith) [Listen]
8. Promise Shout [Listen]
9. Redemption Drawth Nigh (feat. Gwen Morton) [Listen]
10. Safe From Harm (feat. BeBe Winans) [Listen]
11. I Shall Not Die But Live [Listen]
12. Walking In My Season (feat. Ron Winans And Lena Starks) [Listen]
13. Holy [Listen]
14. He Neveer Fails (introducing NuDNA) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.